Wednesday, June 24, 2009

Energy Efficiency Labelling

The Electrical and Mechanical Services Department runs a voluntary Energy Efficiency Labelling Scheme for appliances and equipment used in the home and office, and for petrol-powered vehicles. Manufacturers, importers can join the scheme to promote their environmentally responsible products. The labels that are issued provide information on energy consumption and efficiency to help you make better purchasing decisions.

Currently there are two types of energy labels the market.They are,
  1. The Gradiant-type energy label and
  2. The Recognition type energy label

The Gradiant-type Energy Label:

The grading-type energy label tells you how much energy an appliance is likely to consume in a year of average use. It also grades that energy efficiency on a scale of one to five, with one being the most efficient and five the least efficient. More generally, grading-type energy labels apply to:
  1. Room coolers
  2. Refrigerators
  3. Washing machines
  4. Electric storage water heaters
  5. Electric clothes dryers

A registration number is issued to each classified brand, so you can rest assured that it has met the Government's exacting standards.

The Recognition-type Energy Label:

The recognition-type energy label does not grade an appliance's energy efficiency. Rather, it tells you that the product has been certified to meet the minimum energy efficiency and performance requirements. The following products are issued with the recognition-type energy label:

  1. Compact fluorescent lamps
  2. Photocopiers
  3. Multifunction devices
  4. Electric rice cookers
  5. Dehumidifiers
  6. Laser printers
  7. Television sets
  8. LCD monitors
  9. Domestic instantaneous gas water heaters
  10. Electronic ballasts
  11. Computers
  12. Fax machines
  13. Hot/cold bottled water dispenser

Products that carry the recognition-type energy label are registered by the Electrical and Mechanical Services Department.

No comments:

Post a Comment